Drugs, Sex, and Suicide

Back in Stansbury Park there was a wonderful family the Lamberts. They were awesome and at some point their daughter had a chance to talk to the Young Women’s presidency or something and they asked her what are the biggest problems the youth are facing right now? Her response was Drugs, Sex, and Suicide.
Well, it’s not just the youth. Addictions are rough and real. This week I’ve talked to a woman in an abusive household (Alcohol has been making it worse), a guy who was suuuuper drunk and very much misses his late wife and is becoming increasingly fond of Suicide (he has attempted once already, but an awesome member felt prompted to go to his house at 6 in the morning and stopped it), another man who is struggling with depression, alcoholism, and other addictions. These have led to suicidal thoughts as well. Unrelated to addictions, there’s also a Sister Missionary who has been throwing up after every lunch for two weeks and has had insomnia for a month and we gave her a blessing.
But in every situation there was a thought that has been reinforced more and more throughout my mission– I have no idea what I’m doing. What I have learned is to just sit quietly until you feel prompted to feel something. With all these situations I would frantically search in my mind to see what I should say and usually just come away with empty trite statements. It’s amazing the feeling of helplessness you have when trying to help someone who feels helpless. But, that’s what I have the spirit for. After sitting quietly for a while and just letting them say what they want, letting them just steam out, the spirit just does a gentle push. That push is either towards a scripture or a bold direction.
I’ve tried to write more in depth about some of the stories, but I just can’t seem to word any of them properly. But suffice it to say I love my mission, and I’m so inadequate. I love all these people we teach and it is amazing to see how the correct knowledge of the Atonement changes people and gives them hope. Understanding our purpose here on earth allows us to grow and learn in the way we need to learn and grow.
I love the gospel and I love all y’all.
2 Nephi 2
27 Wherefore, men are free according to the flesh; and all things are given them which are expedient unto man. And they are free to choose liberty and eternal life, through the great Mediator of all men, or to choose captivity and death, according to the captivity and power of the devil; for he seeketh that all men might be miserable like unto himself.
Don’t be miserable! 🙂
Elder Dolan
Leave a Reply

