Becoming not Doing

“The Final Judgment is not just an evaluation of a sum total of good and evil acts–what we have done. It is an acknowledgment of the final effect of our acts and thoughts–what we have become. It is not enough for anyone just to go through the motions. The commandments, ordinances, and covenants of the gospel are not a list of deposits required to be made in some heavenly account. The gospel of Jesus Christ is a plan that shows us how to become what our Heavenly Father desires us to become.”
-Dallin H. Oaks
This is a quote has recently brought me a lot of solace. My whole mission I have been struggling with companions who simply don’t want to do the work and it has been really frustrating me. I found myself thinking God was punishing me for some reason, or that he was simply just testing me to see the point at which I would break. Then with this new transfer I’ve been brought to near insanity. So much of our time is spent in our basement or just talking to a certain few members with maybe a few hours every week spent actually working. After two weeks I was brought near to that breaking point. This talk however made me feel like it was all okay. Though there are a few things I don’t really have full control of, it doesn’t really matter. As long as I’m doing what I can, my efforts aren’t wasted. All the different things I’ve gone though on my mission have been to shape me to become who I need to be later.
Despite all of that, we did have a baptism this Saturday!
Nov 9 -1
-Awh, Aren’t they just precious. Grandfather and Grandson-
These are two are some of the coolest people I’ve met. This kid, Jayden, is really smart for his age. He understood the lessons so well and was able to apply the lessons to other lessons we taught. He didn’t always seem like he was listening, but when he was asked a questions, he’d nail it.
Then his Grandfather, Stacey, is just a great guy and helped a lot in the teaching. He is able to use metaphors so well to simplify and solidify the lessons. Plus he’s a crazy good artist.
Nov 9 -2 Nov 9 -3
Another fun thing is that our homeowners have left for the next 6 weeks. They have asked me to take care of some standard home owner stuff, but also they have chickens! So, today I got to scrape out their feces out of their coop, so fun. Then every day I’m suppose to collect and wash their eggs, which is actually kind of cool. I did have to spend 15 minutes just trying to get them back into their pin by just running at them. I looked really dumb… But it was enjoyable haha.
I hope all are doing well, and I really appreciate the emails I get from all of you!
Elder Dolan
Leave a Reply

