Ya, But did we die?

Mmmmm, it’s been a good week!
It’s been kind of an off week, we had few lesson compared to normal this week (like 10,) however, we had a some nice opportunities.
So, to begin this week we decided to bake like 6 batches of cookies for a whole bunch of different people who have helped us out a lot, and people we’re teaching. It gave us an excuse to go visit some people particular people and be able to set up future lessons and it was nice to repay some people.
On that note, I just have to say- Utah Missions are the easiest missions in the world. Like we are pampered beyond what we should be really. First off, baptisms are super easy to get. Like if we really focused on baptisms, instead of reactivations, we could have 1 a week easily, at least. We get so many referrals and there is an element of familiarity, since these people start to understand why all there neighbors are the way they are. Second, my area is three wards, yet we cover like a square mile and a half. And a relatively large portion of our area is just commercial buildings. We cover ridiculously small areas. Some people cover three stakes, but even then it’s small compared to other missions. Third, members. We get honked and waved at like ever 3 minutes. They are everywhere. We could probably just put our thumb out and a member will come and ask “need a ride Elders?”. Fourth, we have super lenient rules. Our area 70 says we must stay within the valley, but besides that if leave the mission boundaries we just have to get permission from our zone leaders, which they typically won’t say no if you have a decent reason.
Then for West Valley more specifically, Polys. I recently got sad when I realized the Polys in our area were like the first he had ever really met on his mission. I thought I would always have them throughout my mission. Polynesians are the most kind generous people ever. The Sapoi’s took us out to go grocery shopping and we grabbed a pack of eggs, a loaf of bread, and some hot sauce. We had two pork chops, ground beef, and rice at home so we figured we were fine for the week. When we went to checkout they just paid for us, which is extremely kind, but typical of members to do. They realized how little we got and decided to take us to Costco after and they made us get some Hot Pockets, breakfast sandwiches, and a whole bunch of other stuff. Then paid again, then took us out to eat. Polynesians genuinely want to help. Polongies(? Poe-long-ees the poly word for White people) have nothing on Polys, haha.

But yes the opportunities, or opportunity I guess.
While we were walking we heard some cars screeching at the maverick center (a sport/concert place, like the Toyota center, they have comedians and bands there all the time) so we went to go watch. They had a little Autocross course set up. So there’s this organization that sets up these courses and people sign up and race their car times. As were watching this guy, who served in the Philippines, offered us a ride. I was up for it right a way and Robinson was a little hesitant, but I accepted the offer, but we had a lesson to go to in a short while, so we said we come back. As we were walking off I asked Robinson what was up. He really wanted to ride in them before the offer, but then when it became an actually possibility he didn’t want to die. He was really scared the car would flip or something…. Buuuut, he still wanted to do it. So, we get back and like 5 more guys offer us rides. We only spent like 30 minutes there, but it was a lot of fun. When you watch the cars they look so slow, but when you’re in them you get tossed around quite a bit. So, that was a blast.

Ah, there were some other little cool incidents, but it’s bedtime. And this is already pretty long, so real quick-
I did give a talk in church yesterday though. It was the most fun I had giving a talk I actually love giving talks now, though this is only my second one out. I’ll just copy and paste my outline

Living for convenience vs. living for covenants
Focus on who we are, what we are to become.

What you are to be; you are now becoming
I was going to talk about the sacramental prayer, Mosiah 8, and the baptismal covenant we’ve almost all made
We too often focus too much on the what and the How and not enough on the why

.
32 Jesus answered them, Many good works have I shewed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me?
33 The Jews answered him, saying, For a good work we stone thee not; but for blasphemy; and because that thou, being a man, makest thyself God.
34 Jesus answered them, Is it not written in your law, I said, Ye are gods?
Do you understand your potential, your destiny?

11 When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.
What childish things are keeping us from our full potential?

What do I want? Am I willing to pay the price?
Jesus has already paid the price for our resurrection, unconditionally, but the state of that resurrection is wholly conditional. It’s our turn to pay.
Speak on the atonement
missionary work (life) is not easy because salvation is not a cheap experience. Salvation never was easy. We are The Church of Jesus Christ, this is the truth, and He is our Great Eternal Head. How could we believe it would be easy for us when it was never, ever easy for Him?
if it be possible, let this cup pass from me: nevertheless not as I will, but as thou wilt.
My God my God, why hast thou forsaken me

Everyone love the sun. Can learn to love to stand in the rain? Rain is just as important as the sun.
Rain teaches you stuff the sun can’t

When faced with trials, Remember: What you are to be; you are now becoming

Our Deepest Fear by Marianne Willamson
Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate.

Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure.

It is our light not our darkness that most frightens us.

We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, and
talented?

Actually, who are you not to be?

You are a child of God.

Your playing small does not serve the world.

There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other

people won’t feel insecure around you.

We were born to make manifest the glory of
God that is within us.

It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.

And as we let our own light shine,
we unconsciously give other people
permission to do the same.

As we are liberated from our own fear,
Our presence automatically liberates others.

Alright. Done.

Now get up. Get out. And get something done today.

Love you all,

Elder D to the O to the L to the A to the N

Leave a Reply

